In Which I Think Back To That Time I Got Cock(?)-Blocked By Friends

The title is inaccurate, really, since I don’t have a cock.  I couldn’t think of a better alternative, though, so we’re sticking with that for now. (Or forever, really.)

For no real reason this story popped into my head earlier today. Kinda odd since it happened more than a decade ago, back when I was a wee lass of 16.

It was senior prom, and I was totally head over heels crazy for a classmate.

He had this bad boy vibe to him, and I was just smitten.

[To be fair, he really wasn’t a bad boy. He was super nice. I just thought he had that ex-con vibe to him, which is dumb when you think about it because we were in high school. And he’d never gotten into any trouble. Apart from being tall, dark, and fucking built, there really was no reason for anyone to assume he was “bad”. I was projecting, maybe? I was also *slightly* disappointed when we became friends and I realized he was super decent and had no plans of breaking my heart. Stupid teen me is stupid.]

Anyway, let’s call him Floyd.

So Floyd was my seat mate, and we were friends, and I was just burning with this unrequited crush I had on him, right?

When senior prom rolled along, I came up with a cunning plan.

plan

Floyd had a van.

Well, his dad’s van.

So I figured I could ask him for a ride, and it would be like a date, right? My teenage brain figured it would go something like this:

  1. Get him to agree to drive me to the prom.
  2. Wear really hot dress.
  3. Make his jaw drop.
  4. Attend stupid prom where no dancing was allowed because Jesus hates dancing.
  5. Get him to drive me back home.
  6. ???
  7. Profit

There are a bajillion loopholes in that plan, but they never occurred to me. And I honestly had no clear game plan.

I mean, I was 16 and stupid.

I had no ulterior motives, okay? I just wanted to maybe spend some time alone with this guy I liked. The most I expected was flirting and maybe a kiss on the cheek. (And then maybe we’d be boyfriend and girlfriend the next day — obviously I have zero understanding of human relationships. Sorry. I’m now 30 and still have zero game.)

Seeing as I have trouble with people touching me, my plan really was just stupid innocent. I just wanted us to be sweet together and maybe start a relationship.

So I asked Floyd for a ride to the prom venue, and dude said yes. Phase one complete!

A week or so before the event, my friends were all talking about carpooling to the venue, but I was all gloat gloat gloat Floyd is driving me to the venue gloat shit eating grin.

I went about setting my plan into motion. I’d already roped him into driving me, so that was step one complete. Next I found a really cool dress that I thought made me look nicer than usual. Everything was set.

On the day of the event, I’m freaking out at home waiting for him and then he rings the doorbell and I’m like hell fucking yeah.

I run to the door and find…

…Floyd’s van filled with my motherfucking friends. 

Assholes.

Instead of driving themselves or carpooling, the bitches all talked him into driving them, too. I think they tried to explain that they’d all met in so-and-so’s house where he drove by to pick them all up before swinging by my house, but by then I was so fucking pissed I couldn’t hear them properly.

Motherfuckers.

I couldn’t even ride shotgun, because the van’s aircon was shot and he had this stupid rigged fan in the back instead. My friends were all “yay, come sit here with us” while I tried my best to convey my utmost hatred for them through my eyes.

I think I tried to blink I fucking hate you in Morse code, but they were all too happy chit-chatting to notice.

And you know what? They all knew I liked him. It wasn’t a secret. I’m pretty sure even his friends knew. (Did he know? I never asked.)

Now that I’m older I try to give them the benefit of the doubt and think that they were just really desperate for a ride that they didn’t realize I had a cunning plan. To be fair, I never told them about the cunning plan. Doesn’t mean I’ve forgiven them, okay?

To make things worse, when we arrived at the venue, he took one look at me and said: “nice dress…”

*pause*

“…but why are you wearing stockings?”

Short answer is because my mom made me. She didn’t like me showing my legs like some tart, so nude stockings I had to wear. This was in 2000, where the only people who still wore nude stockings were bank tellers and SM sales ladies. Stupid, stupid, stupid stockings.

I don’t remember much about prom itself. I think we ate stuff and listened to the school pastor’s sermon or something. Maybe we lit candles. I don’t know anymore.

The drive home was five million times worse.

My friends were not getting the hint, and despite me praying to all the gods in existence so that they may let Floyd drive me home alone… no dice. They all piled back into the van and started discussing post-prom shenanigans.

Which I couldn’t join because curfew.

And so they dropped me off at home, and Floyd and my friends had a merry time.

The end.

And that is the story of how I got cock-blocked by friends.

Dicks.

5 thoughts on “In Which I Think Back To That Time I Got Cock(?)-Blocked By Friends

Talk to Me

