In Which the Power of Joe Hill Compels Me

2013-059

Horns

Joe Hill

I have a very strange physical reaction to wrongful accusations. They don't even have to be accusations against me. If I'm watching the telly or reading a book and someone is wrongfully accused, the pad of flesh right beneath the middle finger on my left hand hurts.

It's not a horrific pain, but it's a sort of burning, pulsating sensation. It throbs.

I still haven't been able to figure out why it happens. It just does.

Having said that, I hope you understand just how uncomfortable reading this book was for me. Immediately we meet Ignatius “Ig” Perrish – a good boy turned good-for-nothing after his girlfriend Merrin is raped and murdered. He's the number one suspect – everyone thinks he did it – but he's never been charged because of the lack of evidence. Spoiler alert: it wasn't him.

Which is why I spent the first few chapters wringing my hands. Poor Ig.

But there's something worse in store for the guy; he's turning into a stereotypical devil. Literally. I'm just shocked he never got the tail. He had the pitchfork, after all.

Horns is a bit of a departure from Hill's usual work. There's the signature mix of the macabre and the ridiculous, of course, but this time he becomes a bit more serious, playing with tropes and turning them on their heads. I'm not one for theological musings, but Hill manages to create a very interesting novel investigating the aftermath of violence and loss. At times I feel like Ig makes for a rather weak and silly devil, his conscience never entirely leaving him.

For someone unravelling a story so bleak, though, Hill's ending is quite optimistic.

More importantly, what's wrong with a bit of fun? Sin is fun, and as long as you're not bashing someone's brains in, indulging in a bit of sinful activity isn't entirely wrong.

(My high school pastors and Bible teachers would have a lot to say to that. It's the devil attempting to swindle us all through literature!)

Horns is not my favorite Joe Hill story. I think NOS4A2 is a lot stronger and more decisive. Still, Horns is a gripping if uncomfortable read. I had to write my thoughts down right after reading, which is something unheard of for someone as lazy as I am.

It's a compelling look at love and loss, and how falling from grace might just be the best thing ever.

 

 

One thought on “In Which the Power of Joe Hill Compels Me

  1. “If I’m watching the telly or reading a book and someone is wrongfully accused, the pad of flesh right beneath the middle finger on my left hand hurts.”

    Holy crap, that’s some next-level involvement there. O_O

Talk to Me

