In Which I Imagine the Marvel Versions in Gaiman’s Norse Novel

2013-011

Odd and the Frost Giants

Neil Gaiman

My experience with Neil Gaiman has been largely hit and sort of miss. When I love his novels I love them extremely, like Neverwhere and his collaboration with Terry Pratchett, Good Omens. Some of his works, though, leave me sort of meh. American Gods didn't really get me, and I'm sort of on the fence with Coraline. The Other Mother cuts a frightening figure, but I'm not sure the story itself is all that.

Now we come to Odd and the Frost Giants, or frost giant if we're being honest. I think what makes the novel wonderful is Gaiman's easygoing prose. There's nothing overly dramatic, and he lets the readers take on Norse mythology without going into complicated detail. Though it would have been nice to see more of the gods interaction with each other, I honestly believe readers are familiar enough with Odin, Thor, and Loki to know what they're like.

I like it. I really really like it. It's just a lot of fun to have a protagonist like Odd.

(The bit about his parents having a normal relationship after his father basically kidnapped his mother from Scotland is seriously wishful thinking, but I will let that slide.)

I think it helped a lot that I kept picturing Anthony Hopkins, Chris Hemsworth, and Tom Hiddleston while reading the gods in this novel. It just made things a lot more fun.

If only we got a longer novel, I think this would have been one of my favourite Gaiman works.

 

Talk to Me

