You Can’t Take the Sky From Me

Obviously, I just finished Firefly and its big damn movie, Serenity.

As always, I'm late to the party. How absolutely sad is that? I was in college then, and downloading television shows just wasn't quite an option when you had a dial-up connection. So, if shows didn't appear here (or at least if I didn't know they did) then that was that.

By the time I had the means I sort of got interested in other things and put this one on the bottom of the list. A terrible decision, I know.

I know.

Because Firefly is pretty fucking flawless. I mean, this isn't nice, but lately I've been having trouble with Doctor Who and its crazy story arcs and I just want a science fiction show that has solid story-telling and characters I can care about.

This show more than delivers. It blows everything else out of the water and I'm not just saying that because I've fallen in love with the crew. Each episode is undeniably well-written and the characters are believable and there's a very engaging universe to explore.

Knowing Joss, I full well accept that the show could have deteriorated eventually (remember Connor? I don't, because PTSD) but to have it taken away from us after 14 episodes? To hell with it. How awful is that? We could have gotten at least five awesome seasons, a horrible sixth, then a redemptive seventh.

I don't even want to talk about Whedon's victims anymore. I'm just so sick of him making me love his characters then killing them off. Man is a sadist.

Anyway, yes I've seen Firefly and I've seen Serenity and though I'm years too late I suppose it still means something when I say the show broke my heart. It's one of Whedon's happier endings, yes, but I'm heartbroken over the fact that we'll never have more episodes of what has to be one of the best shows ever to grace television.

At the moment I cheer myself up with the idea that Mal and crew are still out there taking crap jobs, kicking asses, and just going wherever they want to go. Sky's the limit.

PS: How cute is Kaylee and Simon? 🙂

 

6 thoughts on “You Can’t Take the Sky From Me

  1. I put the series on my iPad last week but haven’t watched yet. Guess I need to get a move on. Have you seen Dollhouse? That was Whedon’s next show and it is predictably awesome. Only 2 seasons. You should definitely check it out!

    I won’t respond to the Doctor Who comment. I like the long arcs…but you got me into the series, so it’s like arguing with my ancestors when I should just be grateful and quiet.

    • I have seen Dollhouse! Was so pissed when it got cancelled. It just had so much potential ugh.

      As to DW, well I like long arcs, too, but lately they’ve gotten a bit ridiculous so it irritates me 🙂

Talk to Me

