In Which I Still Don’t Care About the Baudelaire Orphans

2013-004

A Series of Unfortunate Events: The Bad Beginning

Lemony Snicket

I don't remember when I first read this book, but I didn't like it then. I just couldn't figure out why I was supposed to. It's just a bunch of kids and they somehow wandered into a Charles Dickens situation. They somehow wandered out of it, except not really, and we are promised more misery.

Wow.

I'm not opposed to the novel because it's about sad kids. I'm perfectly capable of empathy when I dig down deep. It's the gimmicky style that irritates me.

It hit me hard a few days ago after releasing the book. I liked Daniel Handler's other novel, so I figured I should give this one another try. I still hate it.

Or let me rephrase that. I didn't hate it last time. I just didn't care. Now I hate it, because it's too gimmicky and all the story is just a ploy to give the narrator some sort of framework for his gimmicks. It's gimmick from wall to wall of text and I'm just unimpressed.

 

2 thoughts on “In Which I Still Don’t Care About the Baudelaire Orphans

  1. I loved reading this series when I was way younger and I’ll always have a special place in my heart for A Series of Unfortunate Events just because it was what got my sister (semi) interested in reading. (I’m the only one in my family who likes to read.) I read “Why We Broke Up,” and I hated it because it was gimmicky as well. What was that other Handler novel that you liked? Maybe he relies on gimmicks when he wants to write for children.

Talk to Me

