10 – The Colour of Magic

True to my promise I’ve started reading Terry Pratchett. I picked up the first Discworld novel and started reading a few days ago.

The thing about novels like this one is that it really takes a lot out of me to imagine the universe it’s set in. I have to work incredibly hard just to put things together. Figuring out the “four elephants on a turtle” concept is easy enough, but it took time for me to work on the Rimbow, the Circumference, etc.

I suck at Science, and this from someone who wanted to be a doctor at that. Granted I only wanted to be a doctor so I could cut people up legally but whatever. It took years for people to convince me that we’re not living inside the earth. Crust-mantle-core was not a concept my mind could easily accept. Also, I still don’t know everything about the female anatomy, and I’m a girl.

That said, it took me a bit of time to get going but eventually I just settled in and got into the story. Am I blown away yet? No. I was expecting something like Good Omens but I realise now that that’s an unfair comparison. Discworld is massive and The Colour of Magic is just the first of 33 novels. To require a sense of urgency from the novel is illogical and unnecessary.

The only thing left to do is soldier on and read more of the Discworld novels. 32 to go.

One thought on “10 – The Colour of Magic

Talk to Me

