08 – Good Omens, or How Tumblr Got Me to Read a Book

This requires a bit of clarification, as the title makes it sound like I hate reading books, and Tumblr somehow found a way to force me to do so.

Definitely not the case. I do read books. It’s just that this time, Tumblr somehow played a role in my choice of reading material.

That said, I suppose a confession is in order. I’ve never read anything by Terry Pratchett. I know, it’s time to rescind my nerd card. But it’s true. It’s not like I’ve been actively avoiding his work. It’s just that other new books keep coming up and I keep putting Discworld off.

This is where Tumblr comes in.

A few weeks ago, I saw a photoshopped poster on Tumblr. This is the fake poster in question:

20120520-013117.jpg

That’s Benedict Cumberbatch and Tom Hiddleston as Aziraphale and Crowley, in case you didn’t know. It would be the understatement of the year to say that I like these two. “I super like these two,” would still be insufficient.

So I saw the poster and I did a bit of googling. After reading a short and spoiler-free blurb, my first thought was, these two are definitely up for the job. Second thought: why the fuck have I never read anything by Terry Pratchett? I deserve a kick in my imaginary balls.

There’s not much I can say about Good Omens. It’s an incredibly funny book, in a way that you normally wouldn’t expect from books these days. I once read on Cracked that columnist Dan O’Brien found it difficult to find books that could actually make him laugh, like a good TV show could. This book does just that. It’s got that deadpan snark right down pat.

In fact, it’s the kind of book that’s so wonderful, and entertaining, and just so bloody well-written that I’ve decided I’ll never be able to write anything like it and I might as well throw in the towel now (I’m a card-carrying member of Writers with Low Self-Esteem, except instead of taking my top off and making bad, alcohol-fuelled decisions I just mope and listen to the The Smiths).

Good Omens is an intelligent take on the eternal struggle between good versus evil, and how one can’t actually exist without the other. It’s a very logical treatise on faith, and religion, and fear, and just humanity in general.

Wherever you stand on the good versus evil spectrum, you’ve got to agree that this is a book you can read and re-read until the actual Armaggedon comes.

P.S. If a movie of this book actually gets made with Tom Hiddleston and Benedict Cumberbatch
playing the slightly-good devil and the kind-of-a-bastard angel respectively, we’re going to have a real apocalypse on our hands. Check it; it’s in Revelations. And so the cheeketh bones shall meet, and the world explodeth truest.

P.P.S. I’m only on book eight of Project 50, which confirms my lurking suspicion that I suck.

One thought on “08 – Good Omens, or How Tumblr Got Me to Read a Book

Talk to Me

