Confessions of a Former Shipper (aka I’m sorry I used to ship Ten and Rose)

I’m not sure how or when it started, but I’ve always been susceptible to shipping.

Shaider and Annie
Sailor Mars and Tuxedo Mask
Ranma and Shampoo
Raphael and April O’Neil
Hiei and Yukina (yes, I know, so gross and Lannister-ish, but still)
Buffy and Spike
Spike and Fred
Draco and Hermione

There’s probably more but I can’t seem to remember them all now. The point is that when I really get into a show, I tend to have these shippy feelings. I don’t care if it’s not OTP. I just like what I like and that’s that.

But I guess I never realised that not every show lends itself to ships. This is why, when I first watched Doctor Who, I made a monumental blunder. I shipped Ten and Rose. I think about it now and I get a little queasy.

Back then I really had no idea what Doctor Who was. I jumped in completely blind; I was watching Torchwood then (the first series) and it was but logical to watch the show it was spun out of, right? I didn’t expect to be so obsessed with it, but a few episodes in and I was a goner.

Now I won’t make excuses, but I never really thought of Ten and Rose as a couple until Army of Ghosts. It’s not like there’s any reason to ship them at all. But then the last two episodes of the second series came along, and suddenly I’m given this suggestion that the two of them might be more than friends.

AND I FELL FOR IT.

I honestly did. I really believed that a 900+ year old Time Lord could find his one true love in a pretty young Chav.

The ridiculousness of that statement did not occur to me then as it jumps out at me now.

What changed my mind? Exposure to the original Who episodes (I have yet to see them all) and the wonderful performance of current Doctor, Matt Smith. Here’s what I’ve learned so far: The Doctor must not be shipped. He is not shipping material. There’s no reason to believe that an alien of his advanced age and intellect would ever find anyone a viable romantic interest ever again.

Plus, there’s always the TARDIS.

The Doctor is a grumpy grandfather who has no time for your shit. He certainly has no time for ridiculous ships.

Unless it’s with the TARDIS.

3 thoughts on “Confessions of a Former Shipper (aka I’m sorry I used to ship Ten and Rose)

Talk to Me

